News sports

Lionel Messi wins his 7th Ballon d’Or, Alexia Putellas crowned in women


After a blank year due to Covid-19, the Ballon d’Or made its return on Monday. And, as in 2019, it was Argentinian Lionel Messi who won the trophy, the seventh of his career. In the women’s category, Alexia Putellas (FC Barcelona) won the award.

Thirty nominees but in the end, only one remains. And the latter is Lionel Messi who won the trophy on Monday, November 29 for the seventh time in his career, a record. He beat Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich) and the Italian-Brazilian Jorginho (Chelsea).

Find the thread of the ceremony minute by minute

• 10 p.m .: the full list of winners for the 2021 Ballon d’Or

Men’s Ballon d’Or

1. Lionel Messi (ARG / FC Barcelona then PSG)

2. Robert Lewandowski (POL / Bayern Munich)

3. Jorginho (ITA/Chelsea)

Women’s Ballon d’Or : Alexia Putellas (ESP / FC Barcelona)

Kopa Trophy (best young rider): Pedri (ESP / FC Barcelona)

Yachine Trophy (best goalkeeper): Gianluigi Donnarumma (ITA / Milan AC then Paris SG)

• 9:45 p.m .: Lionel Messi wins his 7e Ballon d’Or in front of Lewandowski

Argentinian Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain) won a seventh Ballon d’Or France Football, beating Pole Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich) and Italian-Brazilian Jorginho (Chelsea) in the ballot.

The Copa America victory this summer, his first trophy in 16 years for Argentina, certainly tipped the scales in favor of the former Barcelona to beat Lewandowski.

• 9:45 p.m.: the French fail at the foot of the podium

N’Golo Kanté (5e) and Karim Benzema (4e) finish at the foot of the podium. Frustrating for the Madrid striker!

As for Jorginho, he fails at the 3e place. To say that at one time, it was enough to win the Champions League and the Euro to be sacred …!

• 9:30 p.m .: Gianluigi Donnarumma is named Best Goalkeeper of the Year 2021

After being crowned best player of Euro-2021 during Euro-2021, Gianluigi Donnarumma won the Yachine trophy for best goalkeeper.

• 9:25 p.m .: the Premiere League in the spotlight between the 8e and the 6e place

6e : Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)

7e : Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

8e : Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)

• 9:15 p.m .: Alexia Putellas Women’s Ballon d’Or 2021

Winner of the Women’s Champions League with Barça, Spain’s Alexia Putellas won the third women’s Ballon d’Or in history.

She succeeds the Norwegian Ada Hegerberg, the first winner in history in 2018, and the champion and American feminist icon Megan Rapinoe.

PSG wins the 10e and the 9e place

Donnarumma and Mbappé are 10 respectivelye and 9e of the rank. Slight disappointment for the prodigy of Bondy who is still regressing! He can still be consoled, he is the only player with Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo to have finished in the top 10 in the last four editions (7e in 2017, 4e in 2018 and 6e in 2019 and therefore 9e This year)

• 8:58 p.m .: Robert Lewandowski wins the top scorer trophy

Little suspense. Everyone knew that the serial goalscorer for Bayern Munich and Poland was the best “goleador” of the year.

• 8:48 p.m .: Pedri wins the Kopa trophy

After bringing Spain to Euro-2021 and the Olympics as well as FC Barcelona, ​​Pedri won the Kopa trophy for best youngster of the year 2021. He was also 24e of the Ballon d’Or ranking.

He succeeds the French Kylian Mbappé (2018) and the Dutch Matthijs de Ligt (2019), no prize having been awarded in 2020 due to the Covid crisis.

The player, who celebrated his 19th birthday on Thursday, has had a stellar trajectory in recent months, until he joined La Roja. He was named best youngster of the last European Championship, where Spain was eliminated in the semi-final by Italy.

Pedro Gonzalez followed this summer with the Tokyo Olympics, concluded with a silver medal, after losing in the final against Brazil. In Japan, he completed a 2020/21 marathon season, with 73 matches played which allowed him to hatch in front of the world.

• 8:30 p.m .: the Ballon d’Or arrives

He is presented by two mysterious helmeted individuals … They are the two Alpine Formula 1 drivers: Fernando Alonso and Esteban Ocon. The brand is a sponsor of the event.

• 8:30 p.m .: the ceremony begins

• 8:15 p.m .: Lionel Messi’s arrival makes noise

• 7:35 p.m .: many supporters in front of the Chatelet theater

• 7 pm: short break in the announcement of the classification. It’s red carpet time!

• 6:45 p.m .: goal scorers Lukaku and Haaland at 12 and 11e place

Note that Haaland finished behind “his rival” Kylian Mbappé

• 6:45 p.m .: Giorgio Chiellini, inseparable from Bonucci

In the classification of the Ballon d’Or as in life or in the Italian team, Chiellini is inseparable from his colleague Bonucci. The captain of the Italians is ahead of him by one place in the standings.

• 18 h 35: Leonardo Bonucci, une 14e place for all of his work?

• 6:23 p.m .: Neymar at 16e place

When he arrived in Paris in the summer of 2017, Neymar aspired to leave the shadow Messi and Suarez to finally win a Ballon d’Or. Four years later, the scores are not good for the Brazilian, too irregular or often injured to claim the supreme award. Moreover, PSG announced on Monday that it would still be unavailable between 6 and 8 weeks due to a new injury.

He is preceded by Sterling, English hero of the Euro, in the standings (15e).

• 6:05 pm: the hero of Euro-2021, Simon Kjær, surprising 18e of the rank

The young English generation is in the spotlight as Mason Mount (Chelsea FC) is in the 19e ranking place. The 18e is more surprising. This is Simon Kjær, the captain of Denmark. A place which undoubtedly owes to his heroic actions during the match between Denmark and Finland where he quite simply saved his teammate Christian Eriksen, victim of a heart attack on the ground.

Luis Suarez for his part is 17e.

• 5:50 p.m .: Algerian Riyad Mahrez at the 20e place

The standings continue to falter and Fennecs captain Riyad Mahrez finishes in the 20e place of this Ballon d’Or 2021. He is ahead of Lautaro Martinez and Bruno Fernandex (21e equally).

• 5:20 p.m .: Pedri, 24e of the rank

The 2021 Golden Boy (best Under-21 player of the year) finishes at 24e place in the ranking for his first professional year. A place that rewards his impressive year with Spain and Barça.

He is preceded by Harry Kane (Tottenham).

• 5 p.m .: We know the players of the 30e at the 25e place

There are a lot of ties at this stage of the ranking

>> To read also: Champions League: Phil Foden, the little prodigy of Manchester City that PSG will have to muzzle

25e : Phil Foden (Manchester City)

26e : Gérard Moreno (Villareal)

26e : Ruben Dias : (Manchester City)

26e : Nicolò Barella (Inter Milan)

29e : Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

29e : César Azpilicueta (Chelsea)

• The course of the evening

The Ballon d’Or ceremony will begin at 8:30 p.m. at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris. Didier Drogba will be in particular in the animation of the evening which will chain the rewards until 10 p.m.

>> To read also: Ballons d’Or 2021: 30 players, 20 players in the running

Like every year, the names will be given before the ceremony. From 5 p.m., the players, placed from the 30e at the 16e place, will gradually be revealed. The revelations will continue until only the final podium remains, which will not be revealed until after the ceremony.

• The Ballon d’Or jury

A jury of 180 journalists, one per country, votes for the men’s Ballon d’Or, and another of 50 journalists specializing in women’s football for the women’s Ballon d’Or. Voting closed on October 24. The players are chosen for their class and their talent but also for their achievements during the year, favoring the winners of the Euro (Italy) and the Champions League (Chelsea).


Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button