News sports

Ballon d’Or: A new controversial ranking


After Lionel Messi’s highly contested Ballon d’Or 2021, The Guardian’s top 100 of the year also offers its share of inconsistencies.

Who was the best footballer of the year? For Christmas, the English media The Guardian published its top 100 for 2021, with a Robert Lewandowski who is ahead this time Lionel Messi. This is not a big surprise, since the 7th coronation of the Argentinian genius in the list of the Ballon d’Or, in the nose and the beard of the Polish striker of Bayern, is denounced since November 22. By taking into account only the vote of European journalists, “Lewy” would have been rewarded.

The Guardian, for its part, asked its many journalists and collaborators as well as 24 former players (including Javier Zanetti, Emre Belozöglu or Roque Junior) to draw up its ranking. As a result, British players and Premier League stars find themselves better ranked than at the Ballon d’Or, like a Mohamed Salah 3rd in front Karim Benzema ! The Blues of Chelsea Jorginho (5th) and N’Golo Kanté (9th) do less well than the BO.

Edouard Mendy 20th

The differences between the two rankings are quite numerous. In the top 30, we find Joshua Kimmich (18th), Edouard mendy (20th), Sadio Mané (23rd) and Thomas Müller (28th) who were not among the 30 nominated for the France Football trophy. While the named Cesar Azpilicueta (50th), Gerard Moreno (51st), Simon Kjær (54th) and Riyad Mahrez (60th) are included.

As at the Ballon d’Or, Neymar (13th) inherits a place too high compared to his bad year with PSG, while his teammates Angel Di Maria (32nd), Marco Verratti (37th), Marquinhos (44th) and Keylor Navas (94th) will be able to compare their respective places rather anecdotal. Yes Kylian Mbappé is 6th, Paul Pogba (69th) and Antoine Griezmann (76th) are out of the top 50.

1st series: Robert Lewandowski
2e: Lionel Messi
3e: Mohamed Salah
4e: Karim Benzema
5e: Jorginho
6e: Kylian Mbappé
7th: Erling Haaland
8e: Cristiano Ronaldo
9th: N’Golo Kanté
10th: Kevin De Bruyne
11th: Romelu Lukaku
12e: Gianluigi Donnarumma
13e: Neymar
14e: Ruben Dias
15e: Harry Kane
16e: Bruno Fernandes
17e: Federico Chiesa
18e: Joshua Kimmich
19e: Luis Suarez
20th: Edouard Mendy

Also read:The Ballon d’Or finally awarded to Lewandowski?Ballon d’Or: A proven “historical fraud”?Ballon d’Or: a record for PSG

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button